

The following minutes were taken at the meeting of the Mayor and the Board of Aldermen at 6pm on March 21, 2023, at the Town Hall in Abita Springs, Louisiana. Mayor Curtis called the meeting to order.

**MAYOR'S ANNOUNCEMENTS**: Mayor Curtis invited Marshal Bonnet and Fire Chief Stein to present their quarterly reports.

**ROLL CALL:** Council Members Boudreaux, Congemi, Patterson, Saussy, and Templet were present. Mr. Saussy moved to accept the February 28, 2023, meeting minutes, seconded by Mr. Patterson. All were in favor. Mr. Saussy moved to accept the January 2023 financial report, seconded by Mr. Patterson. All were in favor.

**OLD BUSINESS**: There was no Old Business to report.

NEW BUSINESS: 1.) Mr. Templet offered a motion to adopt A RESOLUTION OF THE BOARD OF ALDERMAN OF THE TOWN OF ABITA SPRINGS INFORMING THE LOUISIANA DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY OF ACTIONS TAKEN AS OUTLINED IN THE MWPP AND TO PROVIDE FOR RELATED MATTERS. The motion was seconded by Mr. Saussy. The vote was: Yeas: 5, Aldermen Boudreaux, Congemi, Patterson, Saussy, and Templet, Nays: 0, Abstain: 0, Absent: 0. 2.) Mr. Boudreaux moved to adopt A RESOLUTION TO APPOINT RICHARD BONNET AS THE TOWN MARSHAL, seconded by Mr. Saussy. The vote was: Yeas: 5, Aldermen Boudreaux, Congemi, Patterson, Saussy, and Templet, Nays: 0, Abstain: 0, Absent: 0. 3.) Mr. Saussy moved to adopt A RESOLUTION TO APPOINT ALTERNATE MAGISTRATES, seconded by Ms. Congemi. The vote was: Yeas: 5, Aldermen Boudreaux, Congemi, Patterson, Saussy, and Templet, Nays: 0, Abstain: 0, Absent: 0. 4.) Town Clerk, Janet Dufrene opened discussion of the levying of the 2023 Millage. Ms. Dufrene explained the process associated with establishing of millage rates and encouraged the Aldermen to consider whether they support maintaining the adjusted maximum millage which would keep rates the same or to increase the rate by rolling forward. Stewart Eastman expressed support for increasing the tax.

MEETING ADJOURNED RESPECTFULLY SUBMITTED THIS 21ST DAY OF MARCH 2023.	
Janet Dufrene, Town Clerk	Honorable Daniel J. Curtis, Mayor